counter for vBulletin

View Page Stats

FSA is Accepting Nominations to local FSA County Committee

The nomination period for local Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committees began Sunday, June 15, 2014.
To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area where the person is nominated.

Farmers and ranchers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women may also nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign the nomination form, FSA-669A. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available at  FSA is Accepting Nominations to local FSA County Committee. Nomination forms for the 2014 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 1, 2014. Elections will take place this fall.

For election purposes, counties are divided into local administrative areas, or LAAs. Each LAA contributes one producer to serve a three-year term on the Farm Service Agency County Committee. Most counties are divided into three LAAs. Combined counties may have three to five LAAs.

Each year, an election is held in an LAA where a committee member’s three-year term is expiring. In counties with three LAA’s, one seat is up for election. In combined counties, two seats may be up for election. This varies among counties. This year an election will be held in LAA2, which includes the communities of Hiawassee Dam, Ranger, Culberson, Unaka & Hothouse; & LAA 3, which includes the communities of Murphy, Peachtree, Andrews, Tomotla, Boiling Springs & Marble.

While FSA county committees do not approve or deny farm ownership or operating loans, they make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms. Nationwide, there are about 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. Committees consist of three to eleven members that are elected by eligible producers.

FSA will mail ballots to eligible voters beginning November 3, 2014. Ballots are due back to the local county office either via mail or in person by December 1, 2014. Newly elected committee members and alternates take office on Jan. 1, 2015.

Please contact Anita C Solesbee, County Executive Director, at 828-837-2721, or for Farm Loans, please contact Elaine Hodgin, Farm Loan Officer, at 828-524-3175,

Feel free to share any post from the WKRK website that you feel is beneficial to your community. We encourage input from local law enforcement, government officials, emergency management officials, schools and other public service organizations. To send us information, use the form on our WKRK Info page.

1,068 total views, 5 views today

Posted in NC-Cherokee County

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other subscribers