counter for vBulletin

View Page Stats

NCDMV Processes 314 Issuances Today for Applicants

Qualified Under Deferred Action Program

The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles announced that, as of 5 p.m. today, it has processed 314 issuances statewide to applicants qualified under the federal Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

Today was the first day North Carolina completed issuances to young people approved by a federal program that grants temporary deferments on deportation for a limited period, usually for not more than two years to some immigrants brought to the U.S. as children.

NCDMV issues to those qualified under DACA for the same duration as that approved by the federal government. The state typically issues such limited duration licenses for visiting students, agricultural workers and others.

To obtain a driver license, an applicant approved by the DACA program must provide the same documents required by North Carolina law for any driver license applicant. They will be required to provide proof of age and identity (two forms), proof of residency, proof of Social Security, proof of liability insurance and, under DACA, proof of legal presence issued by the U.S. government.

After providing proper documentation for their driver license application, DACA applicants are issued a temporary driving certificate. This is the same certificate provided to all qualified driver license applicants, enabling them to drive while awaiting the 10- to 20-day delivery of their driver license by mail.

Those who qualify under the DACA program can contact their local driver license office or NCDMV at 919-861-3011, or log onto the NCDMVwebsite for more information.

Feel free to share any post from the WKRK website that you feel is beneficial to your community. We encourage input from local law enforcement, government officials, emergency management officials, schools and other public service organizations. To send us information, use the form on our WKRK Info page.

457 total views, 5 views today

Posted in NC-Cherokee County, NC-Clay County, NC-Graham County, NC-Macon County, NC-Swain County, Regional News

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 793 other subscribers